Minutes of the 83th Meeting

of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting: 13:00-15:00 April 18, 2005

Venue: Bank of Japan

Chairperson: Mr. Nobuyuki Uchida Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Muneaki Kiyota Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto

Secretary: Mr. Tetsuya Inoue

Attending committee members: 17

. Resignation and Election of Members

Mr. Uchida, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that the term of Mr. Kawano as member would shortly expire. Mr. Kawano expressed his wish to serve for another term.

After reviewing the application and presentation by the candidate, votes were taken, and the candidate was elected unanimously.

. Activities of Sub-Committees

1. The Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Ito, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported on "FX Turnover Survey in Tokyo Market" that the Sub-Committee would start the detailed discussion to implement the annual Survey in next April.

For this purpose, the Sub-Committee would collect relevant information from FXC (NY) and FXJSC (London).

2. The Sub-Committee on Public Relations

Mr. Ooki, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee posted the Disclaimer on the Committee web site and printed the Notice on "Orange Book 2003".

3. The Sub-Committee on Market Research

Mr. Kiyota, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee made an interview about the progress of Business Continuity Plan (BCP) with Japanese Bankers Association which discussed the BCP in money market.

__. Others

Mr. Inoue, Secretary of the Committee, asked for approval of his presentation on recent activities of the Committee in Operations Managers Conference held in London on April 20-21. And it was approved.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members

(April 18, 2005)

Members

Chairperson:

Mr. Nobuyuki Uchida* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi)

Vice-chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research:

Mr. Muneaki Kiyota* (Mizuho Corporate Bank)

Vice-chairperson:

Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto* (Barclays Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Tetsuya Inoue* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering:

Mr. Kouichi Ito* (The Mitsubishi Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:

Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:

Mr. Fumihiko Kawano* (Nomura Securities) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Shinji Imanishi (The Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct

Mr. Yoshiharu Yanagisawa* (State Street Bank and Trust Company)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Settlement:

Mr. Toshiyuki Kamiyama* (Mizuho Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on NDF:

Mr. Hidehiko Inamura* (Citibank) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-commerce

Mr. Masamichi Koike* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Co.)
Mr. Kosuke Hanao* (The Royal Bank of Scotland)

Mr. Masawaki Takagawa (Mawill Large Scowitica)

Mr. Masayoshi Takegawa (Merrill Lynch Japan Securities)

Mr. Kazuyori Nagata* (UFJ Bank)

Mr. Masayuki Mizukoshi* (JPMorgan Chase Bank)

Mr. Kazuyuki Takahashi* (Reuters Japan)

Mr. Hiroshi Takao* (Tokyo Forex & Ueda Harlow)

<u>Observers</u>

Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi* (Money Brokers Association)
Mr. Hisamitsu Tanaka* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi)
Mr. Koichi Takenaka* (Mizuho Corporate Bank)

Mr. Yasuaki Amatatsu* (Bank of Japan)

^{*}Attended the meeting.