Minutes of the 106th Meeting

of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

(TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting:	$13:00-14:00$ July 25^{th} , 2007
Venue:	Bank of Japan
Chairperson:	Mr. Satoshi Inoue
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Koichi Kubo
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto
Secretary:	Mr. Tetsuya Inoue
Attending committee members:	25

I. Resignation and Election of Members

Mr. Satoshi Inoue, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Ito expressed his wish to resign from the Committee. He also reported that as a result of recruiting new members due to recent resignations of members, he received applications from Mr. Matsuo (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Co.), Mr. Yoshikawa (BNP Paribas) and Mr. Wanikawa (JPMorgan Chase Bank).

After reviewing the application and presentation of each candidate, votes were taken, and the candidates were elected unanimously.

Also, Chairperson reported that the term of Mr. Tetsuya Inoue as Secretary would shortly expire. He announced his candidacy for Secretary of the Committee and was elected unanimously.

II. Activities of Sub-Committees

1. The Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Ito, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that Mr. Tanaka, Associate Member of the Committee, was replaced by Mr. Okabayashi. (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ). Also, Mr. Ito reported on the change of members' affiliations as follows;

- Mr. Matsuo would be elected Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering and Vice-Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters, and would participate in the Sub-Committee on BCP.
- Mr. Yoshikawa would be elected Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct.
- Mr. Wanikawa would participate in the Sub-Committee on Education and the Sub-Committee on E-commerce.

Mr. Inoue, Secretary of the Committee, proposed that the results of "FX Turnover Survey in Tokyo Market" should be released on July 26th. His proposal and the contents of the press release were approved by the Committee.

2. The Sub-Committee on Public Relations

Mr. Ooki, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that he updated the Committee's website for recruiting new members.

3. The Sub-Committee on Education

Mr. Nagaya, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that they decided to invite Mr. Daisuke Uno, Economist of Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Co., and Mr. Richard Koo, Economist of Nomura Research Institute, as presenters of next Forex Seminar on August 27th.

4. The Sub-Committee on Settlement

Mr. Komatsu, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee invited Mr. Kanazawa (Bank of Japan) and discussed the list of probable recommendations to market participants in contingent situations.

5. The Sub-Committee on BCP

Mr. Kanazawa (Bank of Japan) demonstrated the communication system for contingent situations.

Mr. Tanaka, Associate Member of the Committee, proposed on behalf of the Chairperson of the Sub-Committee that costs for the communication system should be paid by the Committee during the test phase until spring of 2008 and by each participant after the formal launch. He also proposed that the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering should be in charge of expense of the system, maintenance of its IDs, and exercises for contingent situations. His proposals were approved by the Committee. Also, the Committee approved the outline of the rules of BCP in FX market, and entrusted the Sub-Committee to decide the operational details of the rules.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members (July 25^{th} , 2007)

<u>Members</u>

<u>Members</u>	
Chairperson:	
Mr. Satoshi Inoue*	(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)
Deputy-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market	
Research:	
Mr. Koichi Kubo*	(Mizuho Corporate Bank)
Deputy-Chairperson:	
Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto*	(Barclays Bank)
Secretary:	
Mr. Tetsuya Inoue*	(Bank of Japan)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Committee Steering:
Mr. Koichi Ito*	(Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Co.)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Public Relations:
Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki*	(EBS Dealing Resources Japan)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Education:
Mr. Shogo Nagaya*	(Nomura Securities)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Legal Matters:
Mr. Masashi Kobayashi*	(Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Code of Conduct:
Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa*	(BNP Paribas)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Settlement:
Mr. Atsushi Komatsu*	(Mizuho Bank)
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-commerce:	
Mr. Masamichi Koike*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Co.)
Mr. Katsunori Kitakura*	(Chuo Mitsui Trust and Banking)
Mr. Takeshi Iba*	(Calyon)
Mr. Masayoshi Takegawa*	(Merrill Lynch Japan Securities)
Mr. Ryuichi Atsuta*	(Bank of America)
Mr. Yuji Sokawa*	(Reuters Japan)
Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa*	(Tokyo Forex & Ueda Harlow)
Mr. Motonari Ogawa*	(Morgan Stanley Japan Ltd.)
Mr. Masaru Matsuo*	(Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Co.)
Mr. Yoshihiro Wanikawa*	(JPMorgan Chase Bank)
<u>Associate Members</u>	-
Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi*	(Money Brokers Association)
Mr. Shuichi Kanehira*	(Mizuho Corporate Bank)
Mr. Hisamitsu Tanaka*	(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)
Mr. Toshihiro Okabayashi*	(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)
Mr. Masafumi Miya*	(Bank of Japan)
<u>Observers</u>	
Mr. Hideaki Imamura	(Ministry of Finance)
*Attended the meeting.	