# Minutes of the 255th Meeting

# of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting: October 18th, 2022 (via teleconference)

Chairperson: Mr. Yoshiyasu Inoue
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Takamoto Osawa
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Masato Kanato
Secretary: Mr. Yuki Shimizu

Attending committee members: 23

### I. Update on Re-adherence to the GCoC in Japan

Mr. Kanato, Vice-Chairperson of the Committee, updated the status of readherence to the FX Global Code in Japan and of those who have not yet readhered to the code. He also reported that an outreach is underway by the Chair and Vice-Chairs, in purpose of encouraging the re-adherence, to those who currently have not yet determined the expected re-adherence date or the readherence itself.

#### II. Progress related to the GFXC

Ms. Nakano, Associate Member of the Committee, reported that the WG plans to submit the tool to verification to asset management companies, with the cooperation of the Investment Trusts Association in Japan, as scheduled in late October and obtain feedback by mid-November, since the online web-based survey tool that the Proportionality WG is currently working on is about to be prepared.

Mr. Shimizu, Secretary of the Committee, reported that he and some Committee members will exchange views with foreign central bank officials, who will visit Japan in the latter half of October.

# III. BCP exercise among three markets

Mr. Koyanagi, Associate Member of the Committee, announced that the joint BCP exercise among three markets is scheduled on November  $16^{\rm th}$  and all the participants must answer to the survey in advance for conducting the exercise.

# List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members (October 18th, 2022)

#### <u>Members</u>

Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on BCP:

Mr. Yoshiyasu Inoue\* (MUFG Bank)

Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce:

Mr. Takamoto Osawa\* (Barclays Bank)

Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:

Mr. Masato Kanato\* (Mizuho Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Yuki Shimizu\* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Steering Committee:

Mr. Takashi Yamamoto\* (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corp.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:

Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki\* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Tatsuto Inoue\* (Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:

Mr. Norihiro Takayama (Nomura Securities)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research and Buy-side:

Mr. Masaru Ishibashi\* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)
Mr. Akira Hoshino\* (Citigroup Global Markets Japan)

Mr. Daiki Hayashi (JPMorgan Chase Bank) Mr. Junichiro Totoki\* (Ueda Totan Forex, Ltd)

Mr. Yuji Sokawa\* (Refinitiv) Mr. Akira Kato (CLS)

Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa\* (National Australia Bank Limited)
Mr. Takayuki Ohkuma\* (Nomura Asset Management Co.,Ltd.)

Mr. Takashi Kuwano\* (Goldman Sachs Securities)

Mr. Hirotsugu Inoue\* (BNP Paribas Bank)

Ms. Kyoko Fukuda\* (ANZ)

## Associate Members

Mr. Yoshihiro Hoshi\* (Money Brokers Association)

Mr. Noriaki Koyanagi\* (MUFG Bank)
Mr. Junpei Tanaka\* (Mizuho Bank)
Ms. Kotone Nakano\* (Barclays Bank)

Mr. Yuki Uchiyama\* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)

Mr. Kyosuke Hari\* (Bank of Japan)

Observer

Mr. Reo Yasuda\* (Ministry of Finance)

<sup>\*</sup>Attended the meeting.