# Minutes of the 239th Meeting

## of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

## (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting:	March 9 <sup>th</sup> , 2021(via teleconference)
Chairperson:	Mr. Naoto Nakamura
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Takamoto Osawa
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Takashi Kawaguchi
Secretary:	Mr. Shuntaro Hara
Attending committee members:	26

#### I. Appointment of Member

Mr. Hayashi had expressed his intention to become a new member of the Committee. This was approved unanimously.

#### II. Reappointment of Members

Mr. Miyazaki and Mr. Ooki had expressed their intention to stay on as members of the Committee. This was approved unanimously.

## III. GFXC Conference

Mr. Nakamura, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that the Committee was asked for comments on issues for discussion in the GFXC conference to be held at the end of March. He asked for a wide range of opinions on these issues. In addition, Mr. Hara, Secretary of the Committee, shared the presentation materials for the GFXC conference with regard to the buy-side outreach activities.

### IV. Forex Seminar

Mr. Takayama reported that some works for digitization of ways to contact and public relation activities in Forex seminar progressed, including getting an Email domain.

## V. Temporary Sub-Committee on Operations

Mr. Hoshino reported that the temporary sub-committee had collected the survey data on the business process in other jurisdictions.

# VI. Enhancement of Compliance

Mr. Itsukaichi reported that the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters interviewed external experts with regard to whether to review the articles of the Committee in order to enhance its compliance. He also shared the draft of the guideline based on that interview.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members		
(March 9 <sup>th</sup> , 2021)		
<u>Members</u>		
Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on BCP:		
Mr. Naoto Nakamura*	(MUFG Bank)	
Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson	of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce:	
Mr. Takamoto Osawa*	(Barclays Bank)	
Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson	of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:	
Mr. Takashi Kawaguchi*	(Mizuho Bank)	
Secretary:		
Mr. Shuntaro Hara*	(Bank of Japan)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Steering Committee:		
Mr. Tsunemasa Tsukada*	(Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corp.)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Public Relations:	
Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki*	(EBS Dealing Resources Japan)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Legal Matters:	
Mr. Tomoyuki Itsukaichi*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:		
Mr. Norihiro Takayama*	(Nomura Securities)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research and Buy-side:		
Mr. Masaru Ishibashi*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)	
Mr. Akira Hoshino*	(Citigroup Global Markets Japan)	
Mr. Daiki Hayashi*	(JPMorgan Chase Bank)	
Mr. Junichiro Totoki*	(Ueda Totan Forex, Ltd)	
Mr. Yuji Sokawa*	(Refinitiv)	
Mr. Makoto Miyazaki*	(CLS)	
Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa*	(National Australia Bank Limited)	
Mr. Takuya Iwasaki*	(Bank of America, N.A.)	
Mr. Takayuki Ohkuma*	(Nomura Asset Management Co., Ltd.)	
Mr. Takashi Kuwano*	(Goldman Sachs Securities)	
Mr. Hirotsugu Inoue*	(BNP Paribas Bank)	
Associate Members		
Mr. Yusuke Ito*	(Money Brokers Association)	
Mr. Noriaki Koyanagi*	(MUFG Bank)	
Mr. Junpei Tanaka*	(Mizuho Bank)	
Ms. Kotone Nakano*	(Barclays Bank)	
Mr. Yuki Uchiyama*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)	

Mr. Jun Shiobara\*

# <u>Observer</u>

Mr. Minoru Hasegawa\*

\*Attended the meeting.

rŀ g (Bank of Japan)

(Ministry of Finance)